Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 35/52 (+2 for the week) Another novel by Liane Moriarty done (pretty good) and a self-help…
Friday, May 3, 2019 - 10:00
Last week our first attempt to visit this Abbey was thwarted since we chose to arrive on the one…
Thursday, May 2, 2019 - 09:57
When I was in high school, I came across a poem about death that starts (read the full poem here):…
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 10:00
If you've learned anything about Joel and me from reading this blog, I'm guessing you haven't…
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 10:00
While many of our other housesits, even longer ones, have seemed to go very quickly, France has…
Monday, April 29, 2019 - 10:00
If you've been following along on my weight loss journey for a while, you know that one of the…
Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 33/52 (+1 for the week) I only got through one book this week, because while I enjoyed it…
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 10:00
Sometimes when you travel the best-laid plans can go awry. (See that time we spent the night in a…
Thursday, April 25, 2019 - 09:27
These days it's pretty hard to be a functioning member of society and also be 'off the grid'.…
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday we ventured out to a few small towns close to us (30 minute drive = close in rural France…
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 - 10:00
One of the trickiest things about traveling via housesitting is scheduling housesits so that we don…
Monday, April 22, 2019 - 10:00
Easter morning in France dawned bright and beautiful, with the sun shining and the birds singing.…
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 32/52 (+2 for the week) This week was an easy read novel for my online book club and a…
Friday, April 19, 2019 - 05:43
All good things must come to an end. Capitalism is an amazing system for creating efficiency in…
Thursday, April 18, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday I shared the incredible before & after photos of the restoration done on this…
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 10:00
Here in France, we are housesitting for a British ex-pat named Bob. When Bob first purchased this…
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 10:00
I started listening to podcasts a few years ago, though I never did so with any regularity. Over…
Monday, April 15, 2019 - 10:00
Book Review: The Year of Living Danishly: Uncovering the Secrets of the World's Happiest Country by…
Sunday, April 14, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 30/52 (+2 for the week) This week I finished a memoir from a Brit who moved to Denmark (I…
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 10:00
What feels like long ago, back in the country of Wales, I wrote this post about the particular…
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 05:49
By now, everyone's heard of fake news. To some, it means "Someone said something negative about me…
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 - 10:00
As we continue to reside peacefully in the French countryside and the days are finally getting…
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday I shared all about the famous tapestries of Aubusson, France (a small town about 30…
Monday, April 8, 2019 - 10:00
On Friday last week, we returned to the town of Aubusson to visit our friend Suzanne, and to see…
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 28/52 (+2 for the week) I read a great novel set in the UK that had mystery, romance, and…
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 10:00
Oftentimes, when it comes to food, we miss the comforts of home. I wrote all about what we miss the…
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 04:33
When most people think of a movie about a swarm of robots taking over the world, they think…
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 - 10:00
Book Review: Born A Crime: Stories From A South African Childhood by Trevor Noah  If you aren't…
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 - 10:00
Life in the country can get a little boring sometimes. Since it's a 40-minute drive to the nearest…
Monday, April 1, 2019 - 10:00
Last week I shared about the amazing pizza we had when we lunched in Limoges. Today I'm here to…
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 26/52 (+3 for the week) I finished Trevor Noah's book this week and it was excellent,…
Saturday, March 30, 2019 - 11:02
This is a HOW TO guide on starting the mobile (only) game Empires and Puzzles (don't install until…
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 10:00
This week we decided to leave our humble little country abode and head over to the big city of…
Thursday, March 28, 2019 - 09:43
I've written before about the worst things about this lifestyle. The first one was missing family…
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 10:00
On our day in Aubusson visiting Suzanne last week, after going to the market in the next town over…
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 - 10:00
When we went to Aubusson to visit Suzanne, we not only got to check out the adorable little town…
Monday, March 25, 2019 - 10:00
On Friday last week, we ventured out of our countryside hideaway to go visit our friend Suzanne in…
Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 23/52 (+3 for the week) I finished one great fiction book, one easy read non-fiction, and…
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 10:00
For the first time since we moved to the UK last fall, being in France has me feeling like we are…
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 05:28
That's right! There's an invasion coming and they're here for our jobs! Even though most of those…