Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Monday, August 29, 2022 - 14:46
With the pre-vacation tasks checked off the list and the packing all done, we had some time in the…
Saturday, August 27, 2022 - 05:13
It's no secret that I love to read.  I tend to go through phases with my reading.  In 2018, I was…
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 - 13:52
This has been a busy week planning for a 23 day vacation. I have all the bills paid, stopped the…
Thursday, August 18, 2022 - 13:27
This has been an exciting week in Iowa with the opening of the eleven-day Iowa State Fair! It is…
Monday, August 8, 2022 - 13:54
When air fryers first came out I jumped on the bandwagon and bought one. But like many new kitchen…
Monday, August 1, 2022 - 14:47
We have been looking forward to our family reunion in Paris…Illinois, that is! The last time we…
Monday, July 25, 2022 - 13:41
With the price of food these days, who can resist a sale! I know I can’t, which is why the guys…
Monday, July 18, 2022 - 14:30
As the hot lazy days of summer persist in the US, I feel for those of you in the UK who are…
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 - 12:59
We had a busy week in the kitchen starting with our 4th of July celebration… Monday in the Kitchen…
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 - 11:36
Our plans to cook on Monday were thwarted when Matthew’s refrigerator died. Dad had to take down…
Monday, June 27, 2022 - 13:56
We had a week of 90’s with 100+ heat indexes to usher in the first official week of summer. All I…
Monday, June 20, 2022 - 15:06
After nine days of vacation and eating out three meals a day, it was good to be home in the kitchen…
Tuesday, June 7, 2022 - 14:47
This was a busy week of last minute preparations for Special Olympics USA Games. With planning to…
Tuesday, May 31, 2022 - 13:33
It has been a busy week getting Matthew ready to go to the Special Olympics USA Games 2022. He will…
Saturday, May 28, 2022 - 07:06
With another week of being slowed down by a bum knee, Matthew spent more time at our house helping…
Monday, May 16, 2022 - 14:42
I have been complaining about our cool wet spring. Now I am going to complain about going from the…
Monday, May 9, 2022 - 13:49
How many of you do spring cleaning? And, does that include your clothes closet? We had finished the…
Monday, May 2, 2022 - 13:23
It’s hard to believe that Bethany’s 10 day visit is over already. The time went by too fast. We…
Monday, April 25, 2022 - 13:51
Monday was an exciting day! After two years, one month and six days, I finally got to put my arms…
Monday, April 25, 2022 - 08:18
Your first time driving in the UK So you’re coming to the UK and you want to know how difficult it…
Monday, April 18, 2022 - 13:34
Happy Snowy Easter! We ended up with an inch of snow. More snow than we had at Christmas! We were…
Monday, April 11, 2022 - 14:03
Another week of cold wet weather and then on Thursday we had a snow squall. Thank goodness for…
Monday, April 4, 2022 - 14:51
I will admit, this has been a depressing week…it is supposed to be spring and yet the snow flurries…
Monday, March 28, 2022 - 15:52
Have you ever had a week where you have too much going on? Well this was one of those weeks. Trying…
Monday, March 21, 2022 - 15:33
This was an exciting week…National Pi Day, St. Patrick’s Day and the first day of Spring! Spring is…
Monday, March 14, 2022 - 15:40
After a snowstorm on Monday and then ensuing frigid temperatures, we decided it was a good week for…
Monday, March 7, 2022 - 14:15
Fat Tuesday…Shrove Tuesday… Mardi Gras…it’s all the same. It is the day before Ash Wednesday, which…
Monday, February 28, 2022 - 13:38
This is the time of year we start to have wild temperature swings. It was almost 60 degrees on…
Monday, February 21, 2022 - 14:34
I hope you had a Happy Valentine’s Day! For us it was a Bonus Pizza Day: Valentine’s Day Dessert…
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 - 15:25
I love the game Wordle. I've spent way too much time on strategy for it, I have to admit. So I…
Monday, February 14, 2022 - 14:59
Since I was wiped out for two weeks with CoVid, I have some catching up to do in the kitchen.…
Monday, February 7, 2022 - 13:51
This series is called Peggy’s Pandemic Pizza…and we have been living the pandemic in real time this…
Monday, January 31, 2022 - 15:16
This has been a crazy week! With Matthew & I receiving immune globulin replacement and Roy…
Monday, January 24, 2022 - 14:04
Another busy week in the kitchen. Between a surge in the pandemic and sub-zero temps, it is the…
Monday, January 17, 2022 - 15:17
Did you know that about one in every eight Americans will eat a slice of pizza on any given day,…
Monday, January 10, 2022 - 13:27
January in Iowa! The weather started out mild this past week giving the guys an opportunity to cook…
Monday, January 3, 2022 - 13:51
Happy New Year! With the three of us being immunocompromised and the pandemic raging on, we will…
Saturday, January 1, 2022 - 07:59
This year I've decided not to make any specific reading goals, but I do want to keep tracking…
Monday, December 27, 2021 - 14:02
I hope you all had a Merry Christmas! It was a very quiet day for us. We virtually attended church…
Monday, December 20, 2021 - 13:48
My version of a full American breakfast is one of my favorite meals…fried eggs, bacon, biscuits…