Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Monday, January 31, 2022 - 15:16
This has been a crazy week! With Matthew & I receiving immune globulin replacement and Roy…
Monday, January 24, 2022 - 14:04
Another busy week in the kitchen. Between a surge in the pandemic and sub-zero temps, it is the…
Monday, January 17, 2022 - 15:17
Did you know that about one in every eight Americans will eat a slice of pizza on any given day,…
Monday, January 10, 2022 - 13:27
January in Iowa! The weather started out mild this past week giving the guys an opportunity to cook…
Monday, January 3, 2022 - 13:51
Happy New Year! With the three of us being immunocompromised and the pandemic raging on, we will…
Saturday, January 1, 2022 - 07:59
This year I've decided not to make any specific reading goals, but I do want to keep tracking…
Monday, December 27, 2021 - 14:02
I hope you all had a Merry Christmas! It was a very quiet day for us. We virtually attended church…
Monday, December 20, 2021 - 13:48
My version of a full American breakfast is one of my favorite meals…fried eggs, bacon, biscuits…
Monday, December 13, 2021 - 13:45
If you haven’t guessed by now, I would say making pizza has become an official hobby. Not just…
Monday, December 6, 2021 - 12:22
This has been a busy week as we decorated the house for Christmas. Although it is one of my…
Monday, November 29, 2021 - 14:22
Happy Thanksgiving! This has been a very busy week in the kitchen. We initially planned to have a…
Monday, November 22, 2021 - 14:40
I can’t believe that November is more than half over. As we are approaching Thanksgiving (in the US…
Monday, November 15, 2021 - 13:39
After such a long, warm fall, we were punched in the face with the cold, blustery side of fall on…
Monday, November 8, 2021 - 15:16
We have had an unbelievably warm fall. That came to an end with the arrival of November. Monday,…
Monday, November 1, 2021 - 17:07
Pizza, Pizza, Pizza…and Halloween! At our private Fried Pizza class last week, we came home with 6…
Monday, October 25, 2021 - 14:18
This is Italian week! When I was growing up the extent of my Italian culinary experience was Chef…
Monday, October 18, 2021 - 15:27
For as long as I can remember, I loved being in the kitchen. As a child I remember sitting at the…
Monday, October 11, 2021 - 14:44
As the days are getting shorter, I keep thinking of all the things needing to be done before winter…
Monday, October 4, 2021 - 10:39
For a variety of reasons, October has always been my favorite month. Maybe because it is my…
Monday, September 27, 2021 - 11:02
I was born and raised in the Midwest by Southern born & raised parents. My Mom was a great cook…
Monday, September 20, 2021 - 12:22
According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, the definition of alliteration is “the repetition of…
Monday, September 13, 2021 - 08:47
I don’t know about you, but as a kid I hated brussel sprouts. They were always boiled and often…
Monday, September 6, 2021 - 14:23
Did you know that the blossoms of any kind of squash are edible? Even pumpkins and gourds? You can…
Monday, August 30, 2021 - 09:36
After the busy food week of the fair, this has been a simpler week. The State Fair is over, school…
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - 05:55
The 2021 Iowa State Fair ended on Sunday. As of Saturday, the attendance for 10 days was 994,489,…
Monday, August 16, 2021 - 13:44
Thursday was the start of the Great Iowa State Fair! After moving to Des Moines, Iowa in 1991, our…
Monday, August 9, 2021 - 10:41
To me there is nothing that tastes more like summer than a BLT. It is a very basic sandwich, yet…
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 - 14:37
This week’s adventures in the kitchen were inspired by our garden and my Southern roots. We have a…
Monday, July 26, 2021 - 15:29
Being the height of sweet corn season in Iowa, we are celebrating corn in one of this week’s pizzas…
Monday, July 19, 2021 - 15:40
My family loves jalapeños…stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon, stuffed with cheese and wrapped…
Monday, July 12, 2021 - 03:43
After making dozens of pizzas over the past several months, I have discovered there are a few…
Monday, July 5, 2021 - 14:39
The 4th of July is a federal holiday in the U.S. celebrating the unanimous adoption of The…
Monday, June 28, 2021 - 15:31
If you have been following my pandemic pizza journey then you know I have created some unusual…
Monday, June 21, 2021 - 10:28
Happy Father’s Day to my hubby! Most countries around the world have a day to honor fathers, but…
Monday, June 14, 2021 - 16:00
Several people have suggested that I should open a pizza restaurant. This past week I have made…
Monday, June 7, 2021 - 03:03
In case you haven’t noticed, I love history. And, I like to find out about the culinary history and…
Saturday, June 5, 2021 - 04:34
This post is the first in a series that will, hopefully, help people in two very important ways:…
Monday, May 31, 2021 - 16:04
It is Memorial Day weekend in the US. The modern day observance is to honor and mourn those who…
Monday, May 24, 2021 - 11:09
After a few days in the hospital, I was looking forward to being back in the kitchen. But another…
Monday, May 17, 2021 - 16:53
It’s baseball season! Although baseball is considered America’s past time, I am not a diehard fan.…