Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Friday, August 2, 2019 - 10:00
When we were in Venice earlier in the week, Joel spotted a McDonald's and wanted to eat there but I…
Thursday, August 1, 2019 - 10:00
I'm pretty sure at this point I'm writing this post just to torture myself, as I am currently in…
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 - 10:00
On our fourth day in Italy, we turned our attention to the mountains and went up! ​ Our first stop…
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 - 10:00
Day 3 in Italy was an action-packed day spent in the iconic floating city of Venice! When we…
Monday, July 29, 2019 - 10:00
After a late night getting back to our friend Yusef's house, we were all grateful for a chance to…
Sunday, July 28, 2019 - 06:36
Reading: 47/52 (+1 for the week) This week I finished a book on the art of "Swedish death cleaning…
Friday, July 26, 2019 - 10:00
The day we landed in Italy we were too tired to do much more than sleep, eat dinner in our hotel…
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 10:00
Our time in London went all too fast, and before we knew my interviews were done and it was time to…
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 - 10:00
As you likely know from reading this post, the reason we went to London for 10 days was so that I…
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 - 10:00
Usually when I do a Traveling Fare post I highlight just one particular restaurant or perhaps a…
Monday, July 22, 2019 - 10:00
When it came time to decide what to do on the Saturday of our time in London, we let Steve pick.…
Sunday, July 21, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 46/52 (+1 for the week) This week's book was on nutrition and what we get wrong. It has…
Friday, July 19, 2019 - 10:00
Okay, so I might have massively fallen down on my job of keeping the blog updated 5 days a week. In…
Sunday, July 14, 2019 - 03:41
Reading: 45/52 (+1 for the week) I read a book in a single day while we traveled from Chicago to…
Friday, July 12, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday was a busy day as we were on the move exploring as much of London in one day as we could…
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 10:45
So if you've been following along with this series, this final entry will be no surprise to you.…
Monday, July 8, 2019 - 10:00
It seems like just yesterday we were sitting for hours at an airport in London, waiting for our…
Sunday, July 7, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 44/52 (+1 for the week) I read Rachel Held Evans' last book, and it was incredible. …
Friday, July 5, 2019 - 10:00
For some people in the USA, the fourth of July is a big huge deal filled with food, fireworks,…
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - 10:00
Tomorrow we plan to take the day off for the Fourth of July. We will spend the holiday with family…
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 10:00
Fun fact about me: every time I enter a hotel room I automatically turn on the TV and turn it to…
Monday, July 1, 2019 - 10:00
A few weeks ago I shared about the amazing sculpture installation that graces downtown Des Moines.…
Sunday, June 30, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 43/52 (+2 for the week) It's nice to be reading again! My holds list has piled up so I'm…
Friday, June 28, 2019 - 10:00
Raise your hand if you know what the World Food Prize is! Up until a few weeks ago, I would not…
Thursday, June 27, 2019 - 08:33
Here we are at the second to last entry in this series. And while I am ranking the deadly sins from…
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 10:00
If you've been following along with the blog for a while, you know that I love castles. We visited…
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 - 10:00
As an ordained elder in the Iowa Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church, even on leave, I…
Monday, June 24, 2019 - 10:00
Back in April when Joel and I were discussing all of the reasons to come home for the summer, one…
Sunday, June 23, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 41/52 (+1 for the week) My mom bought a book with a family connection and it was awesome!…
Friday, June 21, 2019 - 10:00
For as long as I have been driving north on Interstate 80, I have always wanted to stop at the SPAM…
Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 21:29
While I don't believe wrath or anger is the worst of the sins, it's probably the deadliest,…
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 10:00
It seems like just yesterday we were celebrating Mother's Day, but somehow it's been over a month…
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 10:00
Though Des Moines is relatively small compared to some American cities, this town boasts many of…
Monday, June 17, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday I had the distinct privilege of preaching at my home church. While scripture reminds us…
Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 40/52 (+1 for the week) I purchased my first (and likely only) book for the year last week…
Friday, June 14, 2019 - 10:00
This week we celebrated a big holiday in my family - my brother's birthday! Just like me when it…
Thursday, June 13, 2019 - 18:55
Last week I did my best to represent sloth, but this week we're talking about envy and jealousy -…
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 - 10:00
On the same day we went to the baseball game in the afternoon, we spent the evening at the zoo!…
Monday, June 10, 2019 - 10:00
I don't think I could truly experience summer in the USA without enjoying one of America's favorite…
Sunday, June 9, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 39/52 (+0 for the week) Well it's a good thing I did a bunch of extra reading earlier in…