Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 - 10:00
Now that I am officially living and working in the UK, I have a UK bank account! Believe me, I felt…
Sunday, May 24, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 - 10:00
Has anyone else been feeling a bit...stuck, lately? When I first learned we were going into…
Monday, May 18, 2020 - 10:00
Like many of you, I imagine, a new sort of technology has entered my life over the last couple of…
Sunday, May 17, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Monday, May 11, 2020 - 10:00
Precisely ten years ago yesterday, I graduated from the Candler School of Theology at Emory…
Sunday, May 10, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Sunday, May 3, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Monday, April 27, 2020 - 10:00
I first wrote about my paper crane project for 2020 back on January 9th. I am proud to say that I…
Sunday, April 26, 2020 - 10:00
Okay, okay, yes, I have been slacking on the blog.  What can I say, my real-life job has taken over…
Monday, April 6, 2020 - 10:00
Quarantine is hard, y'all. I know you all are feeling this, too. I know we are making these…
Sunday, April 5, 2020 - 10:00
Weirdly, the days and week seem to be flying by even though we are on lockdown. Maybe because it…
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 - 10:00
We have officially been living in our flat in Notting Hill for about two weeks now. So I figure it'…
Monday, March 30, 2020 - 10:00
Last week I was on the phone with my colleague when he asked me how I was doing with the lockdown.…
Sunday, March 29, 2020 - 10:00
Okay, so, despite the global pandemic and the London lockdown and general life weirdness, I am…
Friday, March 27, 2020 - 10:00
It's been 23 days since my last real blog post.  In some ways, it's hard to believe that much time…
Sunday, March 22, 2020 - 10:00
Um, the world is changing/has changed a lot in the two weeks since I last wrote this post. A…
Monday, March 9, 2020 - 10:00
This sermon was preached at Walnut Hills UMC in Urbandale, Iowa on Sunday March 8, 2020. I was…
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! Life is still pretty much chaos as we are…
Friday, March 6, 2020 - 19:56
IMPORTANT NOTICE!! This is not an invitation for every internet person to visit us. This is for our…
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 10:00
I don't always give something up for Lent. I don't always take something on either (a practice…
Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! Life is still pretty much chaos as we are…
Monday, February 24, 2020 - 10:00
We are officially back on home turf!  Our travel back was really quite smooth and easy, which bodes…
Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! We came back to the States this week so…
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 10:00
We are finally getting to work on our work visa and I am so excited now that the finish line seems…
Monday, February 17, 2020 - 10:00
Sometimes it feels like 2020 has so far been a year of learning lessons. Hard-earned ones. I long…
Sunday, February 16, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! Also, I just thought of the perfect name…
Thursday, February 13, 2020 - 10:00
Y'all. It's been a day.  Well, really, 2020 has just been a whole thing so far. So many ups and…
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 - 10:00
On the last day that Steve was here to visit us, Vince and Joan offered to take us on an excursion…
Monday, February 10, 2020 - 10:00
Last week I shared about the maze at Milton Keynes that absolutely fascinated us and held our…
Sunday, February 9, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! 1. Walk 20 minutes a day I am loving…
Friday, February 7, 2020 - 10:00
I mentioned the other day that Steve took it as a personal challenge to show Joel and me a town in…
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 - 10:30
Politics these days are incredibly divisive. Tribalism runs rampant and negativity is the rule more…
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 - 10:00
While the St. Albans Cathedral is perhaps the best thing we saw while we were in town, it is not…
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 - 10:00
Last week Steve came to visit us which means there was some adventuring to be had! Our first stop…
Monday, February 3, 2020 - 10:00
I definitely owe you all several posts about our adventures with Steve last week (we visited three…
Sunday, February 2, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! 1. Walk 20 minutes a day I am rocking this…
Monday, January 27, 2020 - 10:00
If truth be told, I was hoping to not still be in Welwyn Garden City this past Sunday. I was hoping…
Sunday, January 26, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! 1. Walk 20 minutes a day Another win in…
Friday, January 24, 2020 - 00:00
There was a time way back in 2007-2011 or so that I read a lot of blogs, religiously. There were…