Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 10:00
From riding in the countryside in France to now riding old familiar trails back in Iowa, 2019 has…
Monday, May 20, 2019 - 10:00
Since returning back to the States a week ago, we have indulged in many of the foods we missed…
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 38/52 (+0 for the week) For the first time this year I did not get any books finished this…
Friday, May 17, 2019 - 10:00
As I kid I always loved the book "The Secret Garden". Imagine my surprise and delight when as a…
Thursday, May 16, 2019 - 08:57
This is it. The final installment of Future Sight. And it focuses on the end of civilization as we…
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 10:00
We are officially back in the States right now, but let's hop back over the pond for a minute to…
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 - 10:00
In a lucky turn of events, our trip back to the United States just happened to be two days before…
Monday, May 13, 2019 - 10:00
When last we left you, dear readers, we were in London for an unexpected day before our travels to…
Sunday, May 12, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 38/52 (+2 for the week) This week I devoured two novels that were easy reads, and a moving…
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 11:50
Terraforming has long been a topic of sci-fi stories. The idea is if we're going to live on another…
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 10:00
If traveling long term has taught me anything it's this - it is important to be flexible. Nowhere…
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 10:00
A couple of weeks ago, when we had a spell of nice weather, Joel and I went on a walk from our…
Monday, May 6, 2019 - 10:00
If there's one thing that most people know about me it's this: I love celebrating holidays. My…
Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 35/52 (+2 for the week) Another novel by Liane Moriarty done (pretty good) and a self-help…
Friday, May 3, 2019 - 10:00
Last week our first attempt to visit this Abbey was thwarted since we chose to arrive on the one…
Thursday, May 2, 2019 - 09:57
When I was in high school, I came across a poem about death that starts (read the full poem here):…
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 10:00
If you've learned anything about Joel and me from reading this blog, I'm guessing you haven't…
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 10:00
While many of our other housesits, even longer ones, have seemed to go very quickly, France has…
Monday, April 29, 2019 - 10:00
If you've been following along on my weight loss journey for a while, you know that one of the…
Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 33/52 (+1 for the week) I only got through one book this week, because while I enjoyed it…
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 10:00
Sometimes when you travel the best-laid plans can go awry. (See that time we spent the night in a…
Thursday, April 25, 2019 - 09:27
These days it's pretty hard to be a functioning member of society and also be 'off the grid'.…
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday we ventured out to a few small towns close to us (30 minute drive = close in rural France…
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 - 10:00
One of the trickiest things about traveling via housesitting is scheduling housesits so that we don…
Monday, April 22, 2019 - 10:00
Easter morning in France dawned bright and beautiful, with the sun shining and the birds singing.…
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 32/52 (+2 for the week) This week was an easy read novel for my online book club and a…
Friday, April 19, 2019 - 05:43
All good things must come to an end. Capitalism is an amazing system for creating efficiency in…
Thursday, April 18, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday I shared the incredible before & after photos of the restoration done on this…
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 10:00
Here in France, we are housesitting for a British ex-pat named Bob. When Bob first purchased this…
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 10:00
I started listening to podcasts a few years ago, though I never did so with any regularity. Over…
Monday, April 15, 2019 - 10:00
Book Review: The Year of Living Danishly: Uncovering the Secrets of the World's Happiest Country by…
Sunday, April 14, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 30/52 (+2 for the week) This week I finished a memoir from a Brit who moved to Denmark (I…
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 10:00
What feels like long ago, back in the country of Wales, I wrote this post about the particular…
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 05:49
By now, everyone's heard of fake news. To some, it means "Someone said something negative about me…
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 - 10:00
As we continue to reside peacefully in the French countryside and the days are finally getting…
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 - 10:00
Yesterday I shared all about the famous tapestries of Aubusson, France (a small town about 30…
Monday, April 8, 2019 - 10:00
On Friday last week, we returned to the town of Aubusson to visit our friend Suzanne, and to see…
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 28/52 (+2 for the week) I read a great novel set in the UK that had mystery, romance, and…
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 10:00
Oftentimes, when it comes to food, we miss the comforts of home. I wrote all about what we miss the…
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 04:33
When most people think of a movie about a swarm of robots taking over the world, they think…