Skip to main content

Blog Posts

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Thursday, May 23, 2024 - 08:46
Bethany and I share a love for board games, and one game that has particularly captured her heart…
Tuesday, April 30, 2024 - 10:00
April started with Easter Monday - which is a holiday here in the UK! There was an event going on…
Sunday, March 31, 2024 - 10:00
I have to admit, I put off writing this blog post for a few weeks because it is going to be a long…
Thursday, February 29, 2024 - 10:00
At the beginning of February, we decided to resurrect our “Frolic Fridays” - when we use my day off…
Sunday, February 18, 2024 - 13:50
As mentioned in my previous post, we've been making playlists of our favorite songs of the year. As…
Wednesday, January 31, 2024 - 10:00
Happy New Year! I always love the start of a new year, the turn of a calendar page. I know it is…
Friday, January 19, 2024 - 07:03
Bethany and I share a love for the open road, where the simple joy of cruising is accompanied by…
Monday, January 1, 2024 - 10:00
I've been keeping track of everything I read since 2018, and I find it ever so helpful as I have a…
Monday, January 1, 2024 - 10:00
I've had so much fun keeping track of my reading for the last six years that this year, I've…
Sunday, December 31, 2023 - 10:00
December is always a full, fun, busy month, so hold on to your hats, here we go!  We started off by…
Thursday, November 30, 2023 - 10:00
On the first day of November, I had some work to do in Trellech and Monmouth, so Joel and I turned…
Monday, November 13, 2023 - 13:32
He did it! I can hardly wait for spring! A big thank you to my gardener, two hundred thirty bulbs…
Wednesday, November 8, 2023 - 11:41
It may be fall, but we are already dreaming of spring! It was Tulip time when we visited Keukenhof…
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 - 18:00
October this year started off strong with the Harvest Festival at Caldicot on the 1st! We were…
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 - 10:07
We had our first freeze on Friday, so I guess this officially ushers in chili season. Although, we…
Tuesday, October 24, 2023 - 14:36
We have been experiencing beautiful fall weather. This week has been peak fall colors. But, a…
Monday, October 16, 2023 - 14:19
Someone posted a meme this week that brought back fall memories from high school. When my friends…
Tuesday, October 10, 2023 - 07:47
Did you know that "each fall, North American monarchs travel from their summer breeding grounds to…
Monday, October 2, 2023 - 13:26
I spent another week being non-weight bearing in the boot following surgery on September 12. I did…
Saturday, September 30, 2023 - 10:00
September is always one of my favorite months of the year - and not just because it contains my…
Tuesday, September 26, 2023 - 14:54
Fall is our favorite time of year, so we decided to take a little getaway to Minnesota this past…
Monday, September 18, 2023 - 14:19
This week started off with a question from a friend on Facebook… Of all the toppings I’ve tried,…
Monday, September 11, 2023 - 13:32
This past Monday was Labor Day in the U.S. Officially, Labor Day is a celebration of the hard-won…
Tuesday, September 5, 2023 - 11:00
Hopefully, we are having our last blast of summer, 90+ degrees Fahrenheit temps. I am so ready for…
Thursday, August 31, 2023 - 07:39
In the US, August was always my least favorite month of the year. In Iowa it is a HOT month, and I…
Monday, August 28, 2023 - 13:44
WOW is all I can say about the heat this past week. We had two days of actual triple digits, plus…
Tuesday, August 22, 2023 - 13:50
I can’t believe that August is more than half over. It was a good week for the Iowa State Fair. The…
Thursday, August 17, 2023 - 12:44
On Friday the 21 of April, 12 days after leaving home, it was time to head back to the UK. Our…
Wednesday, August 16, 2023 - 10:14
From our morning in Luxembourg City, we had about a three-hour drive to get to our final stop on…
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 - 09:35
If you’ve been keeping track of our EU Road trip adventure you’ll have noticed that we went to…
Monday, August 14, 2023 - 04:48
This was a very busy week, so here are the highlights… Monday on the Grill with Matthew: BBQ Bacon…
Monday, August 7, 2023 - 04:47
I can’t believe we are into the first week of August. It was a busy week… Monday in the Kitchen…
Monday, July 31, 2023 - 13:08
July started off a little less exciting than it was supposed to - we missed out on our friend’s…
Monday, July 31, 2023 - 04:38
We had a couple of busy days getting Matthew ready to go on a day of RAGBRAI…the Register’s Annual…
Wednesday, July 26, 2023 - 12:40
After spending the night in the fanciest hotel of our trip (of which I completely failed to take…
Tuesday, July 25, 2023 - 14:11
It’s been another busy week for Matthew. Now that he is back to work, we haven’t had as much time…
Monday, July 17, 2023 - 13:45
Monday was an exciting day, our first Iowa sweet corn of the season. One of our favorite ways to…
Wednesday, July 12, 2023 - 12:05
For those of you in the U.S. I hope you had a Happy 4th of July!  Matthew celebrated on the 3rd by…
Sunday, July 9, 2023 - 11:43
After spending a whole week in our cozy cabin in the middle of nowhere Netherlands, it was time to…
Saturday, July 8, 2023 - 14:28
 Are you worried about AI taking over the world? Well, we decided to let AI take over our vacation…