Skip to main content

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Sunday, August 9, 2020 - 10:00
NEXT WEEK I'LL BE WRITING THIS UPDATE FROM WALES!!!  I'm just a little bit excited about that.  1.…
Sunday, August 2, 2020 - 10:00
Less than two weeks now until we move to Wales! I am getting so excited!  1. Walk 20 minutes a day…
Sunday, July 26, 2020 - 10:00
I am so ready to move to Wales, but I am trying to make myself enjoy and take advantage of these…
Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 10:00
Holy cow we are over halfway through the year now! 2020 sure has turned out a lot differently than…
Monday, July 6, 2020 - 10:00
This sermon was preached for Notting Hill Methodist Church on Sunday, July 5th, 2020. We are still…
Sunday, July 5, 2020 - 15:33
1. Walk 20 minutes a day Done! Soon I'm going to start biking though - an E-bike is on its way to…
Monday, June 29, 2020 - 11:48
When working on losing weight, it is so easy to get focused on the numbers on the scale. But any…
Sunday, June 28, 2020 - 10:00
1. Walk 20 minutes a day We had a couple of really hot days this week so we would just wait to walk…
Monday, June 22, 2020 - 10:00
This sermon was preached for Notting Hill Methodist Church on Sunday, June 21, 2020. We are still…
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 - 10:00
Since we arrived in London shortly before the lockdown we have, for obvious reasons, not done much…
Monday, June 15, 2020 - 10:00
In this time of social distancing we have had to get creative with ways to spend time with family…
Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 10:00
  1. Walk 20 minutes a day We've been walking for about an hour every evening. It is a lovely time…
Monday, June 8, 2020 - 10:00
I must confess, I have never been much of a plant person. You know how some people are known for…
Sunday, June 7, 2020 - 10:00
We've got about 10 weeks left here in London and we are both getting antsy to move to Wales. As…
Wednesday, June 3, 2020 - 10:00
This sermon was preached at Notting Hill Methodist Church in London, England, on Sunday May 31,…
Monday, June 1, 2020 - 10:00
I had a lot of other things on my list to write about this week. But I just can't bring myself to…
Sunday, May 31, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 - 10:00
Now that I am officially living and working in the UK, I have a UK bank account! Believe me, I felt…
Sunday, May 24, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 - 10:00
Has anyone else been feeling a bit...stuck, lately? When I first learned we were going into…
Monday, May 18, 2020 - 10:00
Like many of you, I imagine, a new sort of technology has entered my life over the last couple of…
Sunday, May 17, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Monday, May 11, 2020 - 10:00
Precisely ten years ago yesterday, I graduated from the Candler School of Theology at Emory…
Sunday, May 10, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Sunday, May 3, 2020 - 10:00
This week was better! I am feeling more energized and motivated, I hope this keeps up.  1. Walk 20…
Monday, April 27, 2020 - 10:00
I first wrote about my paper crane project for 2020 back on January 9th. I am proud to say that I…
Sunday, April 26, 2020 - 10:00
Okay, okay, yes, I have been slacking on the blog.  What can I say, my real-life job has taken over…
Monday, April 6, 2020 - 10:00
Quarantine is hard, y'all. I know you all are feeling this, too. I know we are making these…
Sunday, April 5, 2020 - 10:00
Weirdly, the days and week seem to be flying by even though we are on lockdown. Maybe because it…
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 - 10:00
We have officially been living in our flat in Notting Hill for about two weeks now. So I figure it'…
Monday, March 30, 2020 - 10:00
Last week I was on the phone with my colleague when he asked me how I was doing with the lockdown.…
Sunday, March 29, 2020 - 10:00
Okay, so, despite the global pandemic and the London lockdown and general life weirdness, I am…
Friday, March 27, 2020 - 10:00
It's been 23 days since my last real blog post.  In some ways, it's hard to believe that much time…
Sunday, March 22, 2020 - 10:00
Um, the world is changing/has changed a lot in the two weeks since I last wrote this post. A…
Monday, March 9, 2020 - 10:00
This sermon was preached at Walnut Hills UMC in Urbandale, Iowa on Sunday March 8, 2020. I was…
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! Life is still pretty much chaos as we are…
Friday, March 6, 2020 - 19:56
IMPORTANT NOTICE!! This is not an invitation for every internet person to visit us. This is for our…
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 10:00
I don't always give something up for Lent. I don't always take something on either (a practice…
Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 10:00
Here's the scoop on how I'm doing on my list this week! Life is still pretty much chaos as we are…
Monday, February 24, 2020 - 10:00
We are officially back on home turf!  Our travel back was really quite smooth and easy, which bodes…