Skip to main content

Posts from May 2019

Our blog area contains random thoughts and ideas, expressions of faith or hope, and anything else that we feel like talking about. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, feel free to Contact Us!

Friday, May 31, 2019 - 10:00
Today we have a guest post written by someone special to me - my very own father! This story of…
Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 09:12
Lust is one of those 'deadly sins' that's more of a throwback to a bygone era.  Tell that to my…
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - 10:00
If you have ever lived in Ames, or anywhere close to it, then I'm sure Hickory Park is not news to…
Tuesday, May 28, 2019 - 10:00
When we knew we would be back in Iowa for two months this summer, I reached out to my Iowa clergy…
Monday, May 27, 2019 - 10:00
In the United States, today (the last Monday in May) is a holiday known as Memorial Day. While some…
Sunday, May 26, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 39/52 (+1 for the week) I ended up skipping the book I couldn't make it through last week…
Friday, May 24, 2019 - 10:00
If you are unfamiliar with what the Special Olympics are, then I am pleased to introduce you to…
Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 21:19
Anyone who has met me knows that I've had difficulties with weight. Actually, what I have issues…
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 - 10:00
Dear Class of 2019 (specifically Breezy, Morgan & Alexyss),  I want to share with you some…
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 10:00
From riding in the countryside in France to now riding old familiar trails back in Iowa, 2019 has…
Monday, May 20, 2019 - 10:00
Since returning back to the States a week ago, we have indulged in many of the foods we missed…
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 38/52 (+0 for the week) For the first time this year I did not get any books finished this…
Friday, May 17, 2019 - 10:00
As I kid I always loved the book "The Secret Garden". Imagine my surprise and delight when as a…
Thursday, May 16, 2019 - 08:57
This is it. The final installment of Future Sight. And it focuses on the end of civilization as we…
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 10:00
We are officially back in the States right now, but let's hop back over the pond for a minute to…
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 - 10:00
In a lucky turn of events, our trip back to the United States just happened to be two days before…
Monday, May 13, 2019 - 10:00
When last we left you, dear readers, we were in London for an unexpected day before our travels to…
Sunday, May 12, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 38/52 (+2 for the week) This week I devoured two novels that were easy reads, and a moving…
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 11:50
Terraforming has long been a topic of sci-fi stories. The idea is if we're going to live on another…
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 10:00
If traveling long term has taught me anything it's this - it is important to be flexible. Nowhere…
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 10:00
A couple of weeks ago, when we had a spell of nice weather, Joel and I went on a walk from our…
Monday, May 6, 2019 - 10:00
If there's one thing that most people know about me it's this: I love celebrating holidays. My…
Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 10:00
Reading: 35/52 (+2 for the week) Another novel by Liane Moriarty done (pretty good) and a self-help…
Friday, May 3, 2019 - 10:00
Last week our first attempt to visit this Abbey was thwarted since we chose to arrive on the one…
Thursday, May 2, 2019 - 09:57
When I was in high school, I came across a poem about death that starts (read the full poem here):…
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 10:00
If you've learned anything about Joel and me from reading this blog, I'm guessing you haven't…